Trying To Get Organized

It’s tough being a mom, wife, working from home and trying to keep your house organized and cleaned all the time. Let’s face it, this is reality and your house does get messy. We can’t all have our house looking like something from a catalog book, but believe me I’m wishing and hoping one day mine will.

I’ve been saying over and over again to the hubby how our household needs to get more organized with everything. I mean, we have tons of space, our basement has tons of cabinets in it so there’s no reason why we can’t get our house organized.  So over the next couple of weeks I’ll be sharing with you guys some of the changes I’m going to be making around here and try to get this ordinary girl more organized.

First thing is first, the kids DVDs! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve walked into their rooms with DVDs on the floor or me step on a DVD case. So instead of throwing everything out after being fraustrated I bought a CD case that holds over 170 CD’s in it and instead took the kids DVDs out of their cases and put them in the CD Holder.

I saw this small, easy idea floating around the web on a few blogs and thought I’d do this for the kids movies and let me tell you I’ve had this done for a week and there has been a big difference. It’s been so much easier. If the kids want to watch a movie they look through the case and pick one and close up the case and that’s it. No more stepping on cases and hurting my feet! As for the cases that are empty, I was going to recycle them, but hubby told me to keep them in case we ever want to sell the DVDs at a yardsale once the kids are older. So they’re in a box in our storage room put away until then.

I know it might not be that big of deal to some people, but we are movie people, we love to buy movies all the time for the kids and for the hubby and I to watch. So this was a perfect cheap and simple way to help my family be a step closer to being more organized. Lots more to come. Have a great day today!

~Ordinary Girl

This entry was posted in Family, Organized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Trying To Get Organized

  1. elitesnudda says:

    I’m going through sort of the same thing too, except I started using shoe boxes, for the little stuff like receipts, which are so annoying because come tax time they are all over the place! If I find anything else that can be of use I’ll share with ya or cross blog it , if I ever learn how lol!

  2. Ellie says:

    Thanks for sharing! I am an organization freak and you’re right, with little ones running around, it seems I am cleaning up the same things all day. I like to give myself 1 or 2 goals each week so not to overwhelm myself. Unfortunately, I find myself having to re-do them shortly after. Take the pantry-stays neat for a week and then when the kids get in there, the straws and paper plates are thrown everywhere and it’s a mess again. Hey, that’s life with kids, right? Thanks for the Movie DVD idea and I look forward to more posts.

    Check out my latest post on http://www.mommymasters.blogspot.com.

    -Ellie

  3. Dainne says:

    My grand kids each have their DVD’s in a case like this. It is great for overnight visits. They come with their own entertainment.

  4. Stacy says:

    I am on a major mission to declutter and organize the entire house. (I suppose it’s called nesting at this point, though!) My plan is to take it one step at a time, the first step being get rid of stuff that we do not need/use. We had a successful garage sale last weekend and we are going to have another because we are going to have round 2 of getting rid of stuff in the next couple of weeks.

    It really is amazing how much stuff accumulates! Getting rid of stuff really is the best step towards getting organized. There is no way that I can get organized with so much stuff laying around. Plus it just feels so good to get unnecessary items out of the house!

    • Thanks Stacy! I couldn’t agree more, getting rid of stuff you don’t need does your house a lot of good. I’m on trash bag three of the kids clothes that they can’t fit and will be working on the toys next.

      Thanks everyone for the wonderful comments!

  5. Laila says:

    I need to do this for my son! His DVDs are all over the place.

  6. Madeline says:

    Love your ideas! I struggle with clutter. I am going to follow your progress and hope your inspiration gets me going . . .

Leave a Reply

