Homemade Bath Salts

Over the years I’ve tried to think of myself as a crafty person, I mean, I’m no Martha Stewart, but if you count me being a mom and helping my five year old stay in the lines of her coloring book or making pretty cool shapes and food with playdough, I’m pretty crafty. (LOL)  Having had an online community of pretty talented women with beautiful ideas did a great deal on my craft skills. I’ve tried to make almost any and everything that I’ve came across that I felt was easy. I mean I’m not as good as most of these women who have craft blogs, but I’m pretty good for an ordinary girl.

So here we go, last year around Christmas time I found this awesome bath salt recipe on Blondes Design Blog and I just LOVED how easy and simple and great this DIY project was. She did Cucumber Melon and Grapefruit, but I did Vanilla Poundcake and Lavender, my two favorite scents.  What was awesome about this little craft project was that most of everything I needed was at my local dollar store and the only thing that wasn’t were both my Essential Oils, which I got from my local Walmart. Believe me, when I say this is easy, I promise you it is, both my three and five year old even helped.

This is perfect for that nice relaxing bath you need after a stressful day (with a glass of wine, of course!) or you can make this and give it away for a nice cheap and affordable gift. I gave two to my mother in law, my hubby’s grandmother, gave a ton out to a girls night out I had, and made a couple for myself, everyone loved them!

Here is how mine turned out. (Don’t mind my crappy camera, I’m crossing my fingers Santa will bring me a newer and better one this year!)

And here is the recipe she and I both used which came from Petit Elefant

Epsom Bath Salts Recipe:

Essential Oils {optional}
2 Cups Epsom Salt
4 Tablespoons Baking Soda

I’ve included two free printable labels that were made for me when I did my Bath Salts in case you’d like to print these out!

Lavender Bath Salt Labels

Poundcake Bath Salt Labels

Have a great day!

~Ordinary Girl

This entry was posted in Bath & Body, Girls Night Out, Random, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Homemade Bath Salts

  1. Sabrina says:

    Just so happens I have everything here … I’m gonna try it out to see if it works for me… I This is such a great Idea thanks for the info Quita!!!!

  2. Pam says:

    This is an awesome recipe. It makes for great gifts. If you want to make it a little different, to keep the bath warm longer and help sore muscles add – 4 tablespoons of ginger….. 😉 I got that from an old farmer while working at the drug store.

  3. Pingback: Camera Please! |

Leave a Reply

